• Age

  • Country

  • Residence
    Madrid, Spain

  • Turned Pro

  • 2016 Earnings


Verdasco, an aggressive left-handed baseliner with a monster forehand, notched his first singles title at the 2004 Valencia Open, and captured his first doubles championship later that year in Stockholm alongside countryman Feliciano Lopez. In the 2008 Davis Cup final, Verdasco clinched Spain’s victory over Argentina with a five-set victory over Jose Acasuso. Verdasco first cracked the Top 10 by beating No. 4 seed Andy Murray and No. 7 seed Jo-Wilfried Tsonga at the 2009 Australian Open. He reached his first career Grand Slam semifinal at that tournament, but lost in five sets to eventual champion Rafael Nadal in a 5-hour, 14-minute match that was the longest in tournament history to that point. Verdasco wrapped up his outstanding 2009 season when, partnering with Lopez, he clinched Spain’s Davis Cup title over the Czech Republic. He won titles in San Jose and Barcelona in 2010, and in 2016 stunned No. 5 seed Nadal in the first round of the Aussie Open. Later that year, Verdasco took home his seventh career trophy in Bucharest.

Verdasco's semifinal match against Rafael Nadal at the 2009 Australian Open lasted more than five hours: 


Singles Titles
  • 2016: Bucharest 
  • 2014: Houston
  • 2010: Barcelona, San Jose 
  • 2009: New Haven 
  • 2008: Umag 
  • 2004: Valencia 
Doubles Titles
  • 2013: ATP World Tour Finals, St. Petersburg
  • 2012: Hamburg, Umag, Acapulco, Buenos Aires
  • 2004: Stockholm