Vandeweghe explodes after double hit in loss

by: TENNIS.com | May 23, 2011

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

TENNIS.com

U.S. teenager Coco Vandeweghe explodes after a chair umpire calls her for a double hit down set point in the first-set tiebreaker of her 7-6 (5) 6-2 loss to Maria Kirilenko in the first round of Roland Garros. After she failed to convince the umpire that she did not intentionally double hit the volley winner, Vandeweghe violently broke her racket. "I felt like I only hit it once and it was a continuous swing, and from my understanding no matter if it hits on the strings and travels to the frame of your racket [it's OK],"said Vandeweghe, who was up 5-2 in the tiebreaker. "He said I double hit and I said I don't think I did; I thought I had a continuous swing and it never came off my racket and he agreed with me for a second, and that's what really got me mad; then he said you double hit it and there was no more point of arguing."

Vandeweghe also served for the first set before the tiebreaker, but the argument pushed her over her tipping point. "It put me over the edge. It's my own fault for letting it carry over. I should have kept more poise, but it's a Grand Slam and I'm emotional and normally I'm mellow, but it shows I cared that much and I wanted to win that set bad."
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

U.S. tops Czech Republic, advances to Fed Cup final

The Americans, reaching the final for the first time in seven years, will play Belarus.

La Decimation: How Rafael Nadal got to 10 titles in Monte Carlo

When it comes to the clay, a consistent approach to the game—and life—sets him apart.

Cirstea angered by Konta reaction; LTA seeks sanctions against Nastase

The Romanian said stopping play wasn't the right call and questioned the Brits' toughness.