Aleksandra Wozniak objects to Caroline Wozniacki’s extended protest of a line call at 5-3 in the second set tiebreaker of her 6-3, 7-6 (6) loss to the Dane in the second round of Roland Garros. Wozniacki thought that a lob she hit has touched the baseline and argued with the chair umpire for a a good length of time, asking her to direct the linesperson who called it out to go and identify the mark. The chair umpire, who checked the mark herself, refused and gave the point to Wozniak, who went up 6-3. However, the No. 1 ran off the next five points to win the match.
"The No. 1 players in the world play games some times," Wozniak told the Canadian web site Love Means Nothing
. "It’s obvious that for her it was to try to distract me or whatever. There are all kinds of tricks that the players use to take more time, maybe to get their concentration back again."
Wozniacki and Wozniak have said they are friends and did exchange kisses at the net. “I’m respectful,” Wozniak said.
Wozniacki said that the chair umpire should have been more diligent. The linesman did not appear to actually make a call. Wozniak had circled the mark and the chair umpire came to check it.
"I just think if the linesman just could show where the mark I don't think it's such a big problem if he just says, ‘Okay, it's that mark.’ Fine, fair enough," she said. But, maybe he saw another mark. I don't know. I just think it would be nice to have him check, like the HawkEye. It's the same thing."