Nalbandian could face suspension, more fines
The ATP will conduct a review of David Nalbandian's actions during the Queen’s Club final, where he kicked an advertising board into the leg of a linesman and injured him. Nalbandian was immediately defaulted from the match, giving Marin Cilic the title.
Nalbandian has already received the maximum on-site fine and lost all of the prize money and points he earned from the tournament, but ATP rules state that an offense such as the one he committed could result in a suspension or further fines under the "Major Offense of Aggravated Behavior" and/or "Conduct Contrary to the Integrity of the Game" codes. Nalbandian did apologize, but also launched into an unsolicited attack of the ATP during a TV interview, which could also incur a fine or suspension.
At the 2012 Australian Open, Nalbandian was fined $8,000 for throwing water at a staff member following his five-set loss to John Isner. However, because the Grand Slams and the ATP often do not work in concert, the ATP does not take into account the amount of the Australian Open fine, which would have resulted in an automatic review due to the ATP's "Cumulative On-Site Offenses" rule, which could have immediately resulted in an additional $10,000 fine and an eight-week suspension.
An ATP spokesperson told TENNIS.com that Nalbandian's overall behavior in the past 12 months would likely be taken account when the ATP's Executive Vice President of Rules and Competition reviews the case.
It appears highly unlikely that Nalbandian will miss Wimbledon, even if he is suspended. An appeal would delay any suspension; also, the Grand Slams and the ATP have no agreement on player suspension rules, so Wimbledon would have to separately rule to suspend him.
In addition, police are investigating a complaint made against Nalbandian due to the incidents. A spokesman for Scotland Yard told the British press that "the Metropolitan Police Service is investigating. The allegation is of assault."—Matt Cronin