Video: Nalbandian kicks barrier near official
David Nalbandian is defaulted from the Queen's Club final after kicking an advertising board into the leg of a lineman, causing the official to bleed. The Argentine had won the first set from Marin Cilic, 7-6 (3), and at 3-3, 40-15 for the Croat, Nalbandian ran wide to his right to chase down a forehand return, missed it, then continued to move and kicked the board into the lineman's leg. Nalbandian was disqualified and will lose all of his prize money and points from the tournament.
Nalbandian apologized to crowd, but then criticized the ATP tour, saying, "I'm very sorry to do that. Sometimes you get angry. Sometimes you cannot control that moments that many time happens. Tough moment to end final like that. Sometimes you feel so much pressure from ATP to play a lot of tournaments. Trying to play in wet conditions and ATP don't do anything for us. And today I do mistake and sometimes I disagree with that. Everybody do mistakes and I don't feel have to end like that, especially in the final."
At the 2012 Australian Open, Nalbandian was fined $8,000 for throwing water at a staff member following his five-set loss to John Isner. He was upset because the chair umpire declined his request to challenge a line call with Isner facing break point at 8-8 in the fifth set. Nalbandian's fine was the highest at the 2012 Australian Open.
When informed by the BBC's Sue Barker that the ATP Rule Book states that a default is mandatory when physical abuse of an official occurs, Nalbandian responded: "There is a lot of rules and sometimes they don't do anything. The rulebook is very big and I can tell you that ATP does a lot of mistakes to players and nothing happens. Players disagree to ATP."
The rulebook indicates that Nalbandian will be fined $10,000 for the offense at Queen's, and since he had already been tagged with an 8,000 fine in Australia, he could be facing an eight-week suspension.