Video: Mardy Fish's serve hits line judge in the eye
Forget Hawkeye. It was Redeye, even Blackeye, on Court 2 for a lineswoman who took a 118 M.P.H. Mardy Fish serve to the face. That clip here:
For the record, the serve was indeed ruled a fault. The line judge had to leave the court ("My eye is watering," she told the chair umpire) after initially wishing to forego immediate treatment or replacement. Fish and foe Jo-Wilfried Tsonga both showed concern, of course. Tsonga went on to win the match, prolonged over two days, by the score of 4-6, 7-6, 6-4, 6-4.
It's a wonder that these incidents don't happen more often, honestly. This situation was thankfully handled with aplomb and expertise by all involved. All the best to the young woman who called the ball and then caught it on her countenance.
—Jonathan Scott (Talk to me on Twitter @jonscott9.)