Chair umpire refuses to shake Malisse's hand post-match

by: Jonathan Scott | June 13, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

There are instances in which on-court opponents refuse to shake each other's (or one the other's) hand after a particularly contentious match. (Tomas Berdych against Nicolas Almagro at the 2012 Australian Open springs to mind.) 

 

And then there is the surprising new standard for officials: The chair umpire in a grass-court match between Xavier Malisse and Guillermo Garcia-Lopez this week opted out of shaking Malisse's hand.

No joke. See the 10sballs.com write-up on that unfortunate, protracted skirmish—between the players, and between each player and the umpire—here. Malisse eventually won the bout by a count of 6-4, 5-7, 6-4, rifling an ace to end it. Surely that felt quite good.

What do you think of the sportsmanship in this match? A valid point from the chair umpire, or an unforced error?

Got a thought, a tip, or a point to make? Hit me on Twitter @jonscott9.

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

TC Plus Match of the Day: Dolehide vs. Falconi, French Open Qualifying

Dolehide, just 19, nearly upset world No. 1 Simona Halep at Indian Wells.

Two-time champion Bertens begins Nuremberg Cup defense with win

Second-seeded Julia Goerges saved a match point but was upset by Kristyna Pliskova.

French Open Memories, #9: Andre Agassi d. Andrei Medvedev, 1999 final

Agassi’s 1-6, 2-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4 win was an end and a beginning for the tennis legend.