Paire: Coaching penalty wouldn't happen to Top 5

by: Matt Cronin | June 02, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

France's Benoit Paire is furious with chair umpire Enric Molina for hitting him with a point penalty for receiving coaching in the second set of his 6-3, 6-7 (3), 6-4, 6-1 loss to Kei Nishikori at Roland Garros. Paire had previously been warned for smashing a racquet. He was given a point penalty at 5-4 in the second set.

"I think the chair umpire wanted to get a promotion," Paire said. "Because at 5-4 advantage for me on set point, to put a warning for coaching, it's unbelievable. I think if Nadal or some good player do the same thing, for sure he doesn't put a warning. It wasn't coaching, it was just encouragement to remain focused on the match. He said just to stay aggressive, stay in the game, like everybody says. All the trainers know that the umpires know that.

"What I found difficult to accept is that he didn't go beforehand to say, 'Lionel [Zimbler, Paire's coach], calm down with the coaching,' as the umpires do. They go to the trainers and say, 'Be careful, calm down.' They don't get any warning. And then on the advantage point for me, 5-4, I received this warning. And they would never do this to the top five players."

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

TC Plus Match of the Day: Dolehide vs. Falconi, French Open Qualifying

Dolehide, just 19, nearly upset world No. 1 Simona Halep at Indian Wells.

Two-time champion Bertens begins Nuremberg Cup defense with win

Second-seeded Julia Goerges saved a match point but was upset by Kristyna Pliskova.

French Open Memories, #9: Andre Agassi d. Andrei Medvedev, 1999 final

Agassi’s 1-6, 2-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4 win was an end and a beginning for the tennis legend.