Court of Appeals: Lucky Bounce
My return hit the net cord, popped directly up, hit the net cord again and then dropped on my opponent's side of the net. He couldn't return it. Was this a winner?—Karyn Theis, Fairfax, VA
Sounds like a perfect shot. Rule 25 says that your return is good if "The ball touches the net, net posts/singles sticks, cord or metal cable, strap or band, provided that it passes over any of them and hits the ground on the correct court." It makes no difference how many times it touches the net. Oh, and keep practicing that shot!
Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.
Got a question? Email it to: email@example.com