Court of Appeals: Out of Bounds?

by: Rebel Good | July 19, 2012

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

My partner hit a short cross-court shot. Our opponent charged in and, while hitting a winner, his momentum carried him well onto our side of the court but outside the sideline. Can he do that?—Rick Winkel, Denver, CO

He sure can. Rule 24, Case 4, is specifcally on point: "Does a player lose the point if an imaginary line in the extension of the net is crossed ... after hitting the ball? The player does not lose the point ... provided the player does not touch the opponent's court."


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#AskNick: Nick Bollettieri on dreaming the impossible dream

Putting no limits on your imagination is the key to success in tennis and life.

TenniStory: Cuba—A tennis center, and a sport, is reborn (FULL VIDEO)

How sport connected a man from Vermont, youngsters from Havana, and two disparate nations.

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance.