Court of Appeals: Up, Up—And Out?

by: Rebel Good | December 03, 2012

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

Playing indoors, my partner hit a high lob. To our surprise, the other team did not play the ball, claiming the point because they said they saw and heard it hit the ceiling on our side of the net. Neither my partner nor I saw or heard it. Are they able to call this? They refused to replay the point.—Barbara Egoville, Downingtown, PA

They did call it, and their call stands. The Code, Item 5, is unequivocal: “A player calls all shots landing on, or aimed at, the player’s side of the net.” And you never are entitled to replay a point simply because you disagree with your opponent’s call.

 Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.


Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance. 

Age is but a number for 69-year-old Gail Falkenberg

Falkenberg, who will turn 70 in January, plans to keep playing at the professional level. 

Welcome to the new TENNIS.com!

Enhanced scores. New tournament view. And much more.