Court of Appeals: Hang Up

by: Rebel Good December 26, 2012

In a doubles league an opponent always hangs his racquet bag on the net post. I think this isn’t allowed, but I can’t find any reference in the rules. My opponent says I’m the only one who objects to his putting it there. Am I being unreasonable?—David Herd, Evanston, IL

Not really. Common courtesy dictates that players’ equipment should be kept well off the court so as not to interfere with play. The Code, Item 46, says that “clothing or towels should never be placed on a net,” and by extension hanging a racquet bag on the net post would be prohibited, too.

Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to:

*** Want to improve your game? Ask legendary coach Nick Bollettieri a question for his new column in Tennis Magazine, starting in 2013, by clicking here. ***

More Stories

Welcome to the new!

Enhanced scores. New tournament view. And much more.

All 102 courts at USTA National Campus to be outfitted with PlaySight technology

Live-streaming technology, analytics and multi-angle video analysis will be available across the breakthrough facility.

VIDEO: Turn defense into offense

A well-placed lob can turn a doubles point around.