Court of Appeals: Hang Up

by: Rebel Good | December 26, 2012

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

In a doubles league an opponent always hangs his racquet bag on the net post. I think this isn’t allowed, but I can’t find any reference in the rules. My opponent says I’m the only one who objects to his putting it there. Am I being unreasonable?—David Herd, Evanston, IL

Not really. Common courtesy dictates that players’ equipment should be kept well off the court so as not to interfere with play. The Code, Item 46, says that “clothing or towels should never be placed on a net,” and by extension hanging a racquet bag on the net post would be prohibited, too.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com


*** Want to improve your game? Ask legendary coach Nick Bollettieri a question for his new column in Tennis Magazine, starting in 2013, by clicking here. ***

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#AskNick: Nick Bollettieri on dreaming the impossible dream

Putting no limits on your imagination is the key to success in tennis and life.

TenniStory: Cuba—A tennis center, and a sport, is reborn (FULL VIDEO)

How sport connected a man from Vermont, youngsters from Havana, and two disparate nations.

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance.