Court of Appeals: Perfectly Framed

by: Rebel Good | December 10, 2012

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

I hit the one-in-a-million framed overhead that bounced on my opponent’s side and then came back over to mine. But I caught the ball with my racquet before it landed. My opponent was at his baseline and had no chance of getting to the ball. As we laughed at the shot he mentioned that technically it was interference on my part. Was it?—Daylen Davis, Omaha, NE

Even though you didn’t hinder your opponent under Rule 26 because he had no play on the ball, you lose the point under Rule 24.f because you deliberately touched a ball in play “more than once.”


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance. 

Age is but a number for 69-year-old Gail Falkenberg

Falkenberg, who will turn 70 in January, plans to keep playing at the professional level. 

Welcome to the new TENNIS.com!

Enhanced scores. New tournament view. And much more.