Court of Appeals: False Stop

by: Rebel Good | January 09, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

I called a baseline shot “out” loudly at the same time as I returned it. My shot went in, but my opponent had stopped playing. I realized his shot had hit my baseline and reversed my call. I wanted to play a let since he had stopped play after my “out” call. Was I right?—Mark Jones, Champaign, IL

Not anymore. Up until the USTA approved a rule change in September 2010, a let would have resulted from the situation you described. But now The Code, Item 12, says that “a player who calls a ball out shall reverse the call if the player becomes uncertain or realizes that the ball was good. The point goes to the opponent and is not replayed.”


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

Watch My Tennis Life: Safarova says she's back to life

The 31-year-old has fully recovered from a virus she caught in Dubai.

#MondayMotivation: Don't fear failure

Don't be afraid to pursue—and achieve—your dreams, says coach Nick Bollettieri.

#MondayMotivation: Nick Bollettieri on handling adverse conditions

No matter the situation, always stay relaxed, calm and cool.