Court of Appeals: Sweat Serve

by: Rebel Good | January 06, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

Before every first serve my opponent wipes the sweat from his brow with the ball. Won’t the ball, weighted with the sweat, react oddly when struck, like a spitball in baseball? Apart from the fact that it grosses me out, is the sweat serve legal?—Benjamin Farmer, Houston, TX

Not at all. USTA Comment 3.2 states that a player “may not take any action that materially changes the condition of the ball; therefore, a player may not use a ball to wipe off perspiration.” Tell your opponent to invest in a hat, headband, bandana or all of the above.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#AskNick: Nick Bollettieri on dreaming the impossible dream

Putting no limits on your imagination is the key to success in tennis and life.

TenniStory: Cuba—A tennis center, and a sport, is reborn (FULL VIDEO)

How sport connected a man from Vermont, youngsters from Havana, and two disparate nations.

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance.