Court of Appeals: All Tangled Up

by: Rebel Good | February 26, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

I was watching a doubles match when one of the women ran into the netting that divides courts while she attempted a return. One foot got tangled up and she hopped frantically on the other, trying to return the next shot. She couldn’t free herself and missed the shot. Shouldn’t they have agreed to play a let? —Gena Fite,  Elmhurst, IL

No. Rule 26 giveth and Rule 26 taketh away. It first allows for a replay for a player hindered by “something outside the player’s own control,” but then adds parenthetically “(not including a permanent fixture).” The netting between courts is a permanent fixture under Rule 2.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#MondayMotivation: Don't fear failure

Don't be afraid to pursue—and achieve—your dreams, says coach Nick Bollettieri.

#MondayMotivation: Nick Bollettieri on handling adverse conditions

No matter the situation, always stay relaxed, calm and cool.

#MondayMotivation: Nick Bollettieri on how to handle critics

Don't argue with them—rather, thank them and take action.