Court of Appeals: Swat Team

by: Rebel Good | May 09, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

While playing doubles, I hit a crosscourt shot that was in and bounced wide into the adjacent court. The player on that court was getting ready to return serve, and when she saw the incoming ball she swatted it out of her way. My opponent asked for a let on the basis of a hindrance. We gave it to him, but I am still wondering if he was entitled to it.—Janet Johnson, Rockford, IL

Wonder no more, it should have been your point. A player on an adjacent court would be a “permanent fixture” under Rule 2, and under Rule 13 the point ended when it hit her (or she hit it). Rule 26, which covers hindrances, specifically excludes calling a let because of a permanent fixture. However, had your opponent been interfered with in the space between the two courts he could claim a hindrance and a let would be played.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance. 

Age is but a number for 69-year-old Gail Falkenberg

Falkenberg, who will turn 70 in January, plans to keep playing at the professional level. 

Welcome to the new TENNIS.com!

Enhanced scores. New tournament view. And much more.