Court of Appeals: Through and Through

by: Rebel Good | May 09, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

My shot in doubles passed between the net and the net post about a foot below the top of the net. It hit the post and caromed into our opponents’ doubles alley and was not returned. Since the post is in play, I thought it was our point; my opponents argued otherwise. Who’s right?—Scott Launey, San Diego, CA

You were half right, but that’s not good enough. Rule 25.a does indicate that the net posts in a doubles match are in play . . . but it also says that a shot must “pass over” the net or cord to be a good return. Yours didn’t, and thus wasn’t. Or, as USTA Comment 25.3 says, “this is a ‘through’” and results in loss of point.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#AskNick: Nick Bollettieri on dreaming the impossible dream

Putting no limits on your imagination is the key to success in tennis and life.

TenniStory: Cuba—A tennis center, and a sport, is reborn (FULL VIDEO)

How sport connected a man from Vermont, youngsters from Havana, and two disparate nations.

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance.