Court of Appeals: Tale of the Tape

by: Rebel Good | July 24, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

Wesley Bedrosian

My opponent’s second serve went underneath the tape and through a small hole in the net, bouncing in the service box. I didn’t attempt a return because the ball didn’t clear the net. My opponent admitted the ball went under the tape and through the net, but she wanted the point anyway. I gave her the point in order avoid an argument. Was my opponent justified?—Mary McMillan, Baton Rouge, LA

Justifiably not. Not only is a ball that passes under the net strap a fault (Rule 17, “the serve shall pass over the net”), but as the receiver it’s your call and yours alone under The Code, Item 20: “A player makes the ruling on a ball that the player’s opponent hits through the net.”


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#MondayMotivation: Don't fear failure

Don't be afraid to pursue—and achieve—your dreams, says coach Nick Bollettieri.

#MondayMotivation: Nick Bollettieri on handling adverse conditions

No matter the situation, always stay relaxed, calm and cool.

#MondayMotivation: Nick Bollettieri on how to handle critics

Don't argue with them—rather, thank them and take action.