WATCH: Tennis Channel Live—Alcaraz wins 40th match of 2022 season in Umag.


The tennis summer swing is in full force across all surfaces, and with the return to hard courts comes more of debates over lines and serves, questionable calls, and the perennial query: What does The Code say?

Court of Appeals is here to clear the air. Rebel Good, a past editor of Friend at Court, the USTA’s handbook of rules and regulations, has taught officiating for more than 30 years and will resolve all your rules questions and quarrels.

A Dropped Shot

A player is receiving a volley and loses control of his racquet. The shot hits the racquet’s strings and goes over the net for a winner, but he wasn’t holding the racquet when the ball hit the strings. Whose point is it?

—Dale Chadwell, High Point, N.C.

Once the racquet leaves your hands you’re in trouble, either because it makes it a tad difficult to return a shot or—more importantly— because you automatically lose the point if your opponent’s shot touches your racquet when you’re not holding it (Rule 24.j.).

—Rebel Good

Got a question? Send it our way. Email your question to