What's a Daniil Medvedev match without any drama? On Tuesday, he posted a 4-6, 6-3, 6-4 victory over world No. 39 Alexander Bublik, but not before overcoming one of the more bizarre hinderance calls the sport has seen.

In the final set, Medvedev led 2-0 but trailed 30-0 on Bublik's serve. A Bublik half-volley sent Medvedev towards the net, but he managed to chase it down and force(?) Bublik to come up with a ‘tweener reply. An undaunted Medvedev blasted the lob back towards Bublik, knocking him off his feet and the racquet out of his hand—all while somehow keeping keep the ball in play.

Medvedev had an easy put-away but let out a polite "sorry" before ending the point, leading chair umpire Aurélie Tourte to call a hindrance on the Russian.

After nearly winning one of the match’s more entertaining rallies, Medvedev was in utter shock at the umpire's call.


"I called hinderance because you spoke during the point," Tourte explained.

A punchy Bublik was equally confused and unsure of who had triggered the call, asking, "who spoke during the point?"

While Bublik laughed uncontrollably, Medvedev argued that, even if Bublik had made it back on his feet, the point was as good as over.

"Can you imagine? Because I had the ball to hit! You didn't have any ball to hit. Can you imagine how stupid this call is? This is gonna be on Tennis TV bro," Medvedev said to Bublik as he retreated to the baseline.

He wasn't wrong; TennisTV responded to the bat signal and had a clip posted to Twitter shortly thereafter.

Bubllik remained at a loss for words and continued to laugh at the situation, but Medvedev laughed last, clearing the Kazakh in three sets to advance into the next round.

Awaiting the top seed in the round of 16 is Aussie James Duckworth, who knocked out Citi Open winner Jannik Sinner in straight sets.