After a hard-luck injury ended his US Open hopes, John Isner has some time on his hands. No pun intended for the man carrying a fractured left wrist.

On Sunday, Andy Roddick fired up a worthy debate topic when he suggested players should not be permitted to catch serve tosses.

“It’s part of the execution” and “you’ve definitely started your motion” were among the former world No. 1’s points of contention, along with the fact some competitors could be using it as a ploy to reset the 25-second serve clock.


Isner was among those to weigh in. The 37-year-old, who became the ATP’s all-time ace leader at Wimbledon, agreed with his countryman. But it was the round of tea he served that hit hardest.

“YES 100%. Half the doubles tour would be out of a job, though,” Isner declared.

“You’ve already been taking their jobs,” responded Roddick. Mardy Fish joined in, too, writing, “that’s you though.”


The ball toss rule is hardly new subject matter to discuss, though it did ripple through Flushing Meadows earlier in the tournament when Holger Rune complained during his third-round loss to Cameron Norrie that the Brit was catching his as an act of gamesmanship.

“You really think he's not doing it on purpose?" remarked the Dane.

Norrie advanced in straight sets and meets Andrey Rublev for a quarterfinal spot Monday.