The fans have spoken and Rafael Nadal has been voted the recipient of the ATP Fans’ Favorite Award for the first time in his career, ending the streak of the now-retired Roger Federer, who had won the award the last 19 years in a row from 2003 to 2021.

The eligible Fans’ Favorite candidates were the active players in the Top 100 of the ATP rankings the week of November 7th. Federer dropped out of the Top 100—and off the ATP rankings—in July, so he was ineligible for the award this year.


“Hello guys, I am super happy to receive the Fan Favorite Award 2022,” Nadal told the fans in a video message. “It makes me feel great. I can’t thank you enough everyone for the support—not only for this award, but same time all the support and love that I receive in every single city and event around the world.

“That means everything to me, so I am very looking forward to 2023 to share a lot of positive things again. See you soon.”

The Fans’ Favorite award was first given out in 2000 and Nadal is just the fourth player ever to win it, after Gustavo Kuerten (2000), Marat Safin (2001-2002) and Federer (2003-2021).

It’s the 15th overall ATP Award of Nadal’s career, having won five Year-End No. 1 Awards (2008, 2010, 2013, 2017 and 2019), five Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Awards (2010, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021) and one each of the Newcomer of the Year Award (2003), Most Improved Player of the Year Award (2005), Comeback of the Year Award (2013), Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year Award (2011) and now Fans’ Favorite Singles Player (2022).

He’s also among the nominees for this year’s Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award, which will be announced later this week.