Having won four Grand Slam titles together and consecutive WTA Finals, Kristina Mladenovic and Timea Babos have firmly established themselves as one of the best teams of their generation.

As accomplished as they are, though, there’s still plenty of unfinished business to attend to, which they’ll look to handle in 2021. And should they do so, the French-Hungarian duo will have earned a place among the greatest women’s teams of all time.

Their major campaign got off to a perfect start in 2020 with their second title in three years at the Australian Open. Tennis players know that taking matters one tournament at a time and not looking too far ahead is crucial. However, winning the first major of the year and having had success at the others, the possibility of a calendar-year Grand Slam—or completing a career one—is on the table.

With the pandemic throwing the calendar into disarray, though, Babos and Mladenovic were denied a shot at either opportunity.

Wimbledon was the biggest tournament to be called off last year. That was the site of their first major accomplishment in the initial iteration of their partnership, when, as the 14th seeds, they reached the 2014 final.

Team to Watch:
Timea Babos and
Kristina Mladenovic

Team to Watch: Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic


They’ve gone deep in the last two editions of the tournament, but haven’t broken through to the championship round.

And then there’s the US Open.

In their reunion campaign in 2018, the pair reached the final, but lost in a third-set tiebreak to Ashleigh Barty and CoCo Vandeweghe. They then followed that up with a quarterfinal showing in 2019. Last year’s Open, though, was a disaster as they were forced out of the tournament due to COVID-19 protocols.

Babos and Mladenovic bounced back from that to defend their title at Roland Garros, where, on their way to their second Grand Slam title of the year, they only dropped two sets.

The plans are for Wimbledon to return this year, and the US Open, too. With those two missing from their Grand Slam-winning record, Babos and Mladenovic will surely be taking aim at them with a chance to make history.