Earlier in July, the new and innovative event kicked off the first action of its kind the sport has ever seen. Matteo Berrettini or "The Hammer" claimed the inaugural Ultimate Tennis Showdown title by surviving past an epic sudden-death tiebreaker against Stefanos Tsitsipas. Although these two stars won't be taking the court in the latest version, many top names are prepared for battle.


Unlike the past UTS editions that were played over multiple weekends, this one will only be three days long. Needless to say, the action will be jam-packed with Group 1 kicking things off on Friday.

Group A consists of Alex de Minaur (The Demon), Dan Evans (The Viper) and Pablo Andujar (The Survivor). The three will face off on Friday night with the winner advancing to Sunday's final.

On Saturday, Group B will bring more of the same with Richard Gasquet, Taylor Fritz, and Feliciano Lopez vying for the event's crown. Lopez will make his third consecutive appearance at the cutting-edge event.

For a refresher, the matches are not played in typical fashion but instead all matches are spit into four quarters with each quarter 10 minutes long. Even if a player wins three quarters, the final quarter is still played out.

Coaches can be on court and those fun UTS cards will still be available for players to use. Some cards can take away an opponent's first serve and make clean winners count for triple the amount of points.


De Minaur will take on Dan Evans in the first Group A clash on Friday night.