The USTA and International Tennis Hall of Fame announced that the Hall of Fame Open will join the US Open Series beginning in 2020, increasing the number of ATP events in the Series to six.

Scheduled for July 12-19, the ATP 250 grass-court tournament will launch the 17th year of the US Open Series. Following Newport will be Atlanta, Washington, D.C., San Jose, Montreal/Toronto, Cincinnati and Winston-Salem.

The Hall of Fame Open's recent champions have included John Isner, who has won the title a record four times, including in 2019, and fellow American Steve Johnson, who won last year’s title.


The tournament has been an annual ATP stop since 1976, but the venue boasts a rich tennis history that dates back much farther. In 1881, it was the site of the first U.S. National Lawn Tennis Championships. The tournament was contested in Newport annually until 1914. It moved to New York in 1915, where it evolved and thrives today as the US Open.

In a nod to its original home, the perpetual US Open trophies are displayed in Newport for museum visitors to see year round, and are transported to New York every August for the tournament.


“It is wonderful to be able to connect our present-day tournament with the venue’s great history as the birthplace of the US Open. Additionally, we are excited to partner with the USTA and the US Open Series tournaments to kick off the summer season and to collectively shine a broader spotlight on tennis in the U.S.,” said Todd Martin, CEO, International Tennis Hall of Fame. “In our historic setting, the Hall of Fame Open already offers a special experience for the players and fans and we look forward to enhancing this experience with the USTA’s partnership.”