WATCH: Carreno Busta apologizes for losing his mindBy Jan 21, 2019
Antwerp Gallery: Andy Murray, Frances Tiafoe produce longest best-of-three set clash of 2021 ATP seasonBy Oct 20, 2021
Level Up: The Home Depot approach is a surefire way to remodel your gameBy Oct 19, 2021
Osaka honored by the Women's Sports Foundation for raising awareness on social justice and mental healthBy Oct 19, 2021
Player of the Week: Paula BadosaBy Oct 18, 2021
Andrea Sestini Hlavackova Cha-chas onto StarDance in Czech RepublicBy Oct 18, 2021
"Adele's new song is major": Serena Williams shares her thoughts on the British singerBy Oct 18, 2021
Roger Federer attends Alexandre Arnault's wedding alongside Beyonce, Jay-Z, Pharrell and moreBy Oct 18, 2021
Tamira Paszek marks new milestone in comeback with ITF victoriesBy Oct 17, 2021
Badosa recalls mental health struggle on eve of BNP Paribas Open finalBy Oct 17, 2021
WATCH: Carreno Busta apologizes for losing his mind
Published Jan 21, 2019
Now that's one way to make an exit. Pablo Carreno Busta lost his cool and the match to Kei Nishikori in the fourth round of the Australian Open, 6-7 (8), 4-6, 7-6 (4), 6-4, 7-6 (8).
The reason for his meltdown? The Spaniard was up 8-5 in the fifth-set deciding tiebreaker, playing for his first career quarterfinal in Melbourne. He had a somewhat open court for a passing shot, but his forehand clipped the net and landed right in front of Nishikori. Carreno Busta guessed left, but Nishikori nailed a winner to his right. The linesman called the Carreno Busta passing shot out—just a little late.
Instead of getting a replay when Hawk-Eye showed the Carreno Busta shot in, Nishikori was awarded the point. Carreno Busta didn't take this bad luck well—even though he guessed the wrong side of the court. He started arguing with umpire Thomas Sweeney, and the loss of concentration saw him lose the next three points and then match on a Nishikori ace.
"I don't need to watch the repeat, the replay of the point, because I know clearly that the line umpire calls out. Then Nishikori make a winner," Carreno Busta said. "Obviously, the point [is] for Nishikori was so we see. But sometimes the line umpires make mistakes, and that's the game, no?"
He was immediately apologetic for the way he exited Margaret Court Arena, which included throwing his bag and screaming toward the umpire as he stormed off.
"Obviously, I'm very sad, no, because after five hours fighting, after five hours' match, the way that I leave from the court wasn't correct, and I'm so sorry, because that's not [me]," the 27-year-old said. "But I think that the referee missed—and, well, I try to leave faster as possible when I lost that last point, because I know that in any moment I lost the head."
He issued another apology to his fans on Twitter (in Spanish) repeating roughly the same thing but adding, "I want to claim that Pablo Carreno is the one that has been on court for 5 hours and not the last 5 seconds."
It's a tough lesson, but one that Carreno Busta will learn from. Nishikori advances to a quarterfinal showdown with Novak Djokovic. At least Carreno Busta successfully defended his points from last year and will likely rise one spot to No. 22.
Kickoff each day of the 2019 Australian Open with Tennis Channel Live, reviewing the day's most important news and previewing the day's biggest matches. Watch LIVE at 6 p.m. ET.
Follow the Australian Open even closer with Tennis Channel PLUS. Go to BuyTCPlus.com and subscribe now!