While 26 of the ATP’s Top 30 players are expected to compete at the inaugural ATP Cup next month across Australia, a few standout players are sticking to traditional tournament tennis to launch their 2020 seasons.

ATP Comeback Player of the Year nominees Stan Wawrinka (No. 16), Andrey Rublev (No. 23) and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (No. 29) headline the entry list in Doha. Tsonga won the event in 2012, while Wawrinka (2008) and Rublev (2018) are former finalists.

The 34-year-old Wawrinka previously opened four seasons with a winning start by triumphing at the Chennai Open in 2011 and 2014-16. That event moved to Pune in 2018 and has now shifted to the week following the Australian Open with the addition of the ATP Cup.

Milos Raonic, the world No. 31, and 2019 Australian Open quarterfinalist Frances Tiafoe, have also entered the ATP 250 tournament in Qatar. Former event champions include Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer and Andy Murray.