Every year, the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award goes to the player who, throughout the year, conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness, and promoted the game through off-court activities.

The votes are in, and for 2022 that player is Casper Ruud.

Ruud ends an 18-year streak where either Roger Federer or Rafael Nadal won it every year—Federer 13 times (2004 to 2009, 2011 to 2017) and Nadal five times (2010, 2018 to 2021).

The last player other than Federer or Nadal to receive the award was Thailand’s Paradorn Srichaphan in 2003.

“I just wanted to say a big thanks to everyone who voted for me for this year’s ATP Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award,” Ruud said in a video message. “I feel very, very honored and happy to win this prize this year. I will try to keep my mood in the right place for next year. Can’t wait to be back on court.

“I wish everyone a great holiday, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year when that time comes. So, see you back again on court soon, and as I said thank you again to everyone who voted and for ATP for giving me this prize.”


Ruud was one of five nominees for the award this year alongside Nadal, Carlos Alcaraz, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Frances Tiafoe. The nominees were voted for by the International Tennis Writers’ Association (ITWA), and then ATP players voted for the winner.

The Norwegian is the first Scandinavian player to win the award since Stefan Edberg, who won it four times in 1989, 1990, 1992 and 1995. The award was renamed after the Swede in 1996.

Ruud, who finished the 2022 season at No. 3, is also the first Scandinavian man to finish in the Top 3 since Edberg in 1992.