In a 3.5 doubles state tournament, an overhead came streaking at my midsection. I pulled my racquet in and the ball caromed high, back over the net. My opponent caught the ball, claiming it had bounced off my body. I was convinced it deflected off my racquet handle. He was convinced it hit my body. We replayed the point, but what should have been the call?
— David Allen, North Augusta, SC
Your opponent can argue all he wants, but it’s still your call, and yours alone (The Code, Item 19). Once you said it hit your racquet, and only your racquet, and your shot went back over the net, it was a good return (Rule 24.i) and your opponent lost the point by catching the ball (The Code, Item 43). While Appendix II of ITF Rules of Tennis, which defines the racquet, does make a reference to the “hitting surface,” there is nothing in ITF Rules of Tennis requiring that a ball be returned with that “hitting surface,” so a bounce off the racquet’s throat, handle or butt—so long as the ball doesn’t also touch the player’s hand, body or clothing—is legal.
Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.
Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com