Following a four-week voting period for the International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2021 Fan Vote presented by BNP Paribas, the results are in. Aussie great Lleyton Hewitt, a two-time Grand Slam champion, received the highest number of votes from thousands of dedicated tennis fans from 140 nations. American doubles star Lisa Raymond finished in second place, and Sweden’s Jonas Bjorkman—a former doubles world No. 1—came in third.

As the first-place finisher, Hewitt will receive three bonus percentage points on his results from the Official Voting Group, while Raymond will receive two, and Bjorkman will receive one. In addition to Hewitt, Raymond, and Bjorkman, Spaniards Juan Carlos Ferrero and Sergi Bruguera are also on the ballot in the Player Category for Class of 2021 induction.

“Being nominated for the Hall of Fame is such a huge honor for me already, and to experience this incredible support from the fans while going through the Hall of Fame process just makes it even more special,” Hewitt stated. “There are four additional great candidates with me on the ballot for the Hall of Fame, and I’m really honored and appreciative of all the support I’ve received from tennis fans in Australia and around the world.”

"I’m really honored": Hewitt tops Class of 2021 Hall of Fame Fan Vote

"I’m really honored": Hewitt tops Class of 2021 Hall of Fame Fan Vote


Getty Images

Introduced in 2018, the ITHF Fame Fan Vote is a way of connecting tennis fans with the sport’s history and its inspiring athletes, after their playing careers have stopped.

“In today’s digital world, sports fans are more knowledgeable and connected to athletes than ever before.," ITHF ICEO Todd Martin said. "We are pleased to give them the opportunity to express their opinions in determining who will be the recipients of tennis’ ultimate honor. It’s been great to see fans embrace this opportunity with a strong voter turnout from all over the world.

"In such an unusual year for tennis, we are glad to offer this unique and important way for fans to engage with the sport, and we are grateful for our longstanding partner BNP Paribas for their support of the 2021 Fan Vote."

To be elected into the Hall of Fame, a candidate must receive an affirmative vote in 75% or higher of ballots submitted from the Official Voting Group, which is comprised of tennis media and experts, or a combined total of 75% or higher from their Voting Group result and any bonus percentage points earned in the Fan Vote.

To date, just 259 tennis greats from 27 nations around the world have been inducted, including legends like Andre Agassi, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert, John McEnroe, Bjorn Borg, Kim Clijsters, and Martina Hingis, among others.

The Official Voting Group voting takes place in the months ahead. Once its results and Fan Vote bonuses are compiled, the class of 2021 will be officially announced early next year. The induction ceremony is scheduled for July 17, 2021 at the Hall of Fame in Newport, R.I.