Novak Djokovic has been elected president of the ATP Player Council, the tour announced.

Kevin Anderson is vice president.

They were selected from a council that also includes Andy Murray, Gilles Simon, Sergiy Shakhovsky, Rajeev Ram, Yen-Hsun Lu, Marcelo Melo, Bruno Soares and Jamie Murray.

The presence of Djokovic and Andy Murray means that the council, again, has significant top singles players, following Roger Federer's decision to stop being on the council a couple of years ago.

“I think Andy and myself, we kind of recognize the importance of our participation as top players in the politics of tennis,” Djokovic said at Wimbledon, “to contribute in a positive way, to improvements—I think changes—that are eventually as a possibility to tennis from a scheduling point of view, tournaments and so forth.”

Anderson, speaking to in Toronto, also said that scheduling would be a top issue.

“The biggest thing is making tennis as viable a sport for as many players as possible," the South African said.

Both Djokovic and Anderson have previously been on the council.