Retirement? Pregnancy? Ana Ivanovic to make announcement Wednesday

by: Brad Kallet December 27, 2016

Tags: Ana Ivanovic

Ana Ivanovic will be “sharing something important with you live," she wrote on Twitter. (AP) 

The start of the 2017 season is just days away, but it appears that we’ll have a bit more offseason news before the tours kick into gear.

On Tuesday, Ana Ivanovic announced on Twitter that she’ll be “sharing something important with you live” on Wednesday.

The announcement will be made on Ivanovic’s Facebook page at 6 p.m. UK time (1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT).

On Facebook, the Serb noted that she will be streaming her news online.

So what will the announcement be? Is she pregnant with husband Bastian Schweinsteiger, who she married back in July?

Will she … gulp … retire?

Speculation has been running rampant all day.

According to Jose Morgado, a tennis reporter based in Portugal, Ivanovic has pulled out of the ASB Classic in Auckland, which is held from Jan. 2 – Jan. 7. He also reported that, just last week, the former French Open champion denied rumors that she was pregnant.

Retirement would come as a surprise, considering Ivanovic is just 29 years old and would appear to have plenty of excellent tennis ahead of her. The former world No. 1 is not quite the superstar she once was, though.

She’s fallen all the way down to No. 63 after a season in which she went just 15-16 and didn’t win a title. She lost six first-round matches and made it past the quarterfinals at just one tournament.

Ivanovic ended the season on a five-match losing streak. 

More Stories

Muguruza retires mid-match, sending Wozniacki into Miami quarterfinals

Wozniacki still has not dropped a set in the tournament. 

Just say no to on-court coaching

One of tennis’ greatest assets is its emphasis on self-reliance. 

Raonic, sidelined with hamstring strain, unsure when he'll return

The Canadian said he won't come back until he's 100 percent.