Court of Appeals: Net Profit

by: Rebel Good | February 27, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

In a doubles match, we hit a shot toward their player who was hugging the net. The ball hit the top of the net and then the player’s racquet, rebounding into our court where we could not return it. However, the net and his racquet came into contact. He claimed that the ball pushed the net into his racket so he shouldn’t lose the point. Was he right?—Nicholas Meier, Aptos, CA

Hardly. Rule 24.b says a player loses the point if their racquet “touches the net . . . while the ball is in play.” The rule doesn’t care “why” his racquet touched the net, just that it did. And your opponent nicely acknowledged that it happened, so he should have conceded the point.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com



 

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#AskNick: Nick Bollettieri on dreaming the impossible dream

Putting no limits on your imagination is the key to success in tennis and life.

TenniStory: Cuba—A tennis center, and a sport, is reborn (FULL VIDEO)

How sport connected a man from Vermont, youngsters from Havana, and two disparate nations.

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance.