Court of Appeals: Wandering Along

by: Rebel Good | February 26, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

As my son was about to hit a second serve, a player from the next court who had completed his match inexplicably walked in front of my son’s opponent, in the middle of the court. My son waited as this player crossed, then hit his second serve. I think he was entitled to a first serve. Could he have called a let?—Tiffany Markulike, Cumming, GA

Certainly. USTA Comment 23.1 states that “the server is entitled to two serves” when “interrupted during the delivery of the second service.” And somebody teach that stroller some manners.


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance. 

Age is but a number for 69-year-old Gail Falkenberg

Falkenberg, who will turn 70 in January, plans to keep playing at the professional level. 

Welcome to the new TENNIS.com!

Enhanced scores. New tournament view. And much more.