Court of Appeals: Bad Catch

by: Rebel Good | July 09, 2013

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

AP Photo

One of my first serves clipped the net cord and was caught by the receiver’s partner before it bounced. Since it was clearly going out, he called for a second serve. Was that correct?—Ernie Rains, Montgomery, AL

Your opponent should have kept his hands to himself. Rule 22.a. states that it’s a service let if the serve, after hitting the net, “touches . . . the receiver’s partner or anything they wear or carry before hitting the ground.”


Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Got a question? Email it to: courtofappeals@tennis.com

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Email

More Stories

#AskNick: Nick Bollettieri on dreaming the impossible dream

Putting no limits on your imagination is the key to success in tennis and life.

TenniStory: Cuba—A tennis center, and a sport, is reborn (FULL VIDEO)

How sport connected a man from Vermont, youngsters from Havana, and two disparate nations.

Steffi Graf convinced reluctant Agassi to help Djokovic at French Open

Agassi initially said no when the world No. 2 requested his assistance.