Internazionali BNL d’Italia (WTA)

  • May 15 - May 21, 2017

Latest Scores


Italy will showcase the future of the men’s game in Milan this November at the Next Gen ATP Finals. But when in Rome, the old guard owns the spotlight. In the past 12 ATP and WTA tournaments contested at the Foro Italico, only five players have won a title: Maria Sharapova, Serena Williams, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray. Murray’s victory last year ended an 11-year run of championships won by either Nadal or Djokovic. “It’s mostly great players who have won this event,” said Murray. “So I’m very proud to have my name on the trophy.” Williams, a four-time champion in Rome, is so accustomed to speaking at the trophy ceremony that she’s learned a bit of Italian, to the delight of the locals. Unfortunately Williams, out for the year as she expects her first child, won't be in Rome this year.